Words Matter-2011- Word Quotes

Back again my dear readers…

I’m valiantly trying to play catch-up in the great Words Matter 2011 Blog Challenge.

The other day my daughter suggested to me that I should set up a calendar alert for this event each year. A really annoying and persistent alert so that I may more efficiently manage my time. She suggested this when I was a mere day behind. Now, she just rolls her eyes and shakes her head. Okay… she doesn’t really do that, but I can feel her thinking about doing it. But, enough with the dithering and on to the Day 3 Challenge question…

What is your favorite quote about words? Why?

I struggled with this, as I always seem to struggle with stopping at one. Perhaps that’s why I have five children…   Nevertheless I did whittle it down to three. Each has its particular reason for being chosen.

This first quote I chose for its essence of what words mean :

“Your own words are the bricks and mortar
of the dreams you want to realize.
Your words are the greatest power you have.
The words you choose and their use establish the life you experience.”
~ Sonia Croquette ~

The second quote I chose for the spirit of what words mean

“The difference between the right word and the almost right word is the difference between lightning and a lightning bug.”
Mark Twain

And this last quote… I chose this one because, as a frustrated novelist ( frustrated, in this case translates into unfinished and unpublished) I know that writing a novel is  a bit like joining a cult or at the very least a strict religious order. You become very devoted to a singular purpose, and other things just slip off your radar.

“When writing a novel, that’s pretty much entirely what life turns into: ‘House burned down. Car stolen. Cat exploded. Did 1500 easy words, so all in all it was a pretty good day.”
Neil Gaiman

So those are my word quotes. I am now officially only one day behind. Just barely, but I’m on the right side of midnight and in my book, that counts.

Please follow the Words Matter Week Challenge here:

http://wordsmatter.naiwe.com/2011/03/09/words-matter-2011-day-3-blog-challenge/

About Simple Pleasures Bookgal

Simple Pleasures Books features a wide selection of new and used books, featuring southern authors, our local Virginia authors and specialize in women's interests. We can be contacted by message here, via email @ : simplepleasuresbooks@gmail.com via our Facebook page : SP Books & Gifts and you can follow us on Twitter
This entry was posted in PostaWeek2011, Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

