Great Books Week- Tuesday’s Topic

The National Association of Independent Writers & Editors is sponsoring the Great Books Week Blog Tour by posing a series of questions for thoughtful discussion about Great Books.

Since we like nothing more than talking about books… well, except for reading said books, we were happy to jump into the discussion and hopefully our readers will too.

Tuesday’s
Great Books Week Topic:

When I was a child my favorite book was…, because… :

    Oddly enough, given my great love for them now, books were not a huge force in my home as a child. Not the way they were when I had my own children. Despite that, I was an early reader and loved the idea of weaving stories, and creating magical places out of thin air.

I had to search a little in the old memory warehouse to settle on one in particular, but finally I pulled just the right one off the shelf…

Charlotte’s Web by E.B White
was my favorite as a child because as a shy child, who sometimes felt at odds with those around her, I loved the story of the earnest little pig, Wilbur and the lessons in life he learned from the wise and understanding spider, Charlotte.

I think it was one of the first stories I read as a child that helped me to understand that we can be very different yet still understand and help one another. It has a lot of important lessons for any child: friendship, loyalty, understanding, patience, duty and compassion. It’s also a beautiful and timeless story of unselfish love and giving.

About Simple Pleasures Bookgal

Simple Pleasures Books features a wide selection of new and used books, featuring southern authors, our local Virginia authors and specialize in women's interests. We can be contacted by message here, via email @ : simplepleasuresbooks@gmail.com via our Facebook page : SP Books & Gifts and you can follow us on Twitter
This entry was posted in Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Great Books Week- Tuesday’s Topic

  1. Michele Nutwell says:

    I devoured the Bobsey Twins, then Nancy Drew and after I was done with them I read all the Hardy Boys series……sorry, couldn’t pick just one…

  2. andrejcick says:

    There are so many books to choose from since I fell in love with reading so early, but I think I will have to go with the books that stretched my imagination the most, broadened my vocabulary the most and tickled my funny bone the most.

    Calvin & Hobbes by Bill Watterson

    It may be cheating to say a comic, but I am a-okay with that. 😉

  3. Stacey Cook says:

    My favorite book as a child was The Giving Tree written and illustrated by Shel Silverstein. I was either seven or eight the first time I read it and I remember it was the first book to make me cry. As soon as my kids were old enough to understand the story I read it to them and each of them cried for the tree the first time too.

Leave a Reply

