Great Books Week 2010- Monday

Great Books Week- 2010: Monday Topic

 

 

What book has had the greatest impact on your life? In what way?

 

I thought about this for a good while and realized there is no way I could narrow it down to just one book. Books have long been my sanctuary, my escape, my education, my way of connecting with and exploring places and things that reality or practicality precluded me from discovering.

So with that said, I’ll include a few of the books that I’ve taken something important from over the years.

Charlotte’s Web by E.B White – For the way it showed how those with differences can work together to help someone, and that compassion, friendship and the unselfish act of giving can work wonders.

Anne Frank: Diary of a Young Girl  by Anne Frank– Because it shows- with innocent candor- both the amazing strength of the human spirit and the horrid things human beings are capable of doing to one another.

The Catcher in the Rye by J.D Salinger and The Outsiders by S.E Hinton-Mostly because these two books were a constant presence in my pre-teen and teenage years. I think that was true of myself and many others, because misfits- of one kind or another- tend to identify with one another.

The Secret Life of Bees by Sue Monk Kidd and Saving CeeCee Honeycutt by Beth Hoffman– Because they are both about a little girl searching for something- mostly a mother’s love and the acceptance it brings and finding that it can come in unexpected places.

About Simple Pleasures Bookgal

Simple Pleasures Books features a wide selection of new and used books, featuring southern authors, our local Virginia authors and specialize in women's interests. We can be contacted by message here, via email @ : simplepleasuresbooks@gmail.com via our Facebook page : SP Books & Gifts and you can follow us on Twitter
This entry was posted in Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Great Books Week 2010- Monday

  1. andrejcick says:

    I would probably have to go with S.E.Hinton’s The Outsiders. When you are little you seem to think that you’re the only one has has thoughts and feelings and that maybe the rest of the people are just fillers for your own private world. Remember thinking that your teacher slept in a coffin over summer break? And if you saw her at the grocery store you were surprised she had to eat food?
    After my mom introduced me to this book, I realized that everyone out there had imaginations, troubles, loves and fears just like me. After reading this book I had to read more, find out what else I still didn’t know about.
    Now if I can find just the right kind of books for my boys…..

Leave a Reply

