Great Books Week 2010- Thursday Topic

Because I would hate for anyone to get the idea that the topics for these posts are my idea I would like everyone to observe  the following in regards to Great Books Week and these blog topics:

In honor of Great Books Week, a holiday that is celebrated annually the first full week in October, Excellence in Literature and the National Association of Independent Writers and Editors (NAIWE) is hosting a Blog Challenge with a specific daily topic Monday through Friday.

For more information please visit: http://greatbooks.naiwe.com/

Great Books Week 2010- Thursday Topic:

 

                                What book or books do you read over and over?

 

This is a tough one, since it changes.  It’s also tough because I spend so much time reading the newly released I barely have time to read old favorites anymore.

I will say that I have toughened my standards for what constitutes a ” keeper” ( a book that I will hold onto no matter how meager the space on my many bookshelves becomes) these days over what they used to be.  I used to be quite the hoarder of books – quite willing to share, but adamant that they be returned upon completion- but now I’ve adopted a more… shall we say, practical attitude about it.

With that said, I’ll list a few of my favorite re-reads of days past, then add a few of the more current entries.

Old Favorites…

It by Stephen King

The Tiger’s Woman by Celeste de Blasis

The Black Swan by Day Taylor

Saving Grace by Julie Garwood

New Favorites…

A Good Man by Larry Baker

The “Sookie Stackhouse” series by Charlaine Harris ( all of them)

Saving CeeCee Honeycutt by Beth Hoffman

and because this re-read question stirred a need that I usually ignore (especially during heightened periods of ” I must read and review this large stack of books next to me”) I am currently re-reading…

South of Broad by Pat Conroy

Thanks for allowing me to share and happy re-reading to you all!

 

 

About Simple Pleasures Bookgal

Simple Pleasures Books features a wide selection of new and used books, featuring southern authors, our local Virginia authors and specialize in women's interests. We can be contacted by message here, via email @ : simplepleasuresbooks@gmail.com via our Facebook page : SP Books & Gifts and you can follow us on Twitter
This entry was posted in Events, Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

