You’re writing what…?!

Some of you may be acquainted with the fact that I happen to be a frustrated writer. I personally thing a lot of people who blog are frustrated writers- but that’s just me.

To let you in on a little secret… I’ve been working on several different drafts of a few different books for far longer than I care to confess. I never seem to stick with any of them long enough to reach the completion line. I did get very close once- but let myself get mired down in the final chapters rather than just pushing through.

I’ve been trying to pick up one of my works in progress and maybe finally achieve that long sought-after, elusive, complete first draft… but alas, the muse was not willing to cooperate. So, there I was, wanting to exercise my writing muscles in a non- book review, non- social commentary way, and no project- new or old- to pursue. Then I happened on an email sitting in my inbox notifying me about a new month long challenge by the fine folks that brought us the NaNoWriMo challenge. It’s called Script Frenzy and it started today, April 1, 2011 and runs through the end of this month.

The challenge is to write 100 pages of script ( screenplay, play, graphic novel) in 30 days. So, I figured- why not? If your creative muse dries up in one area, why not try another? I’m writing a dramatic screenplay. I’ve read and watched a lot of Aaron Sorkin, Frank Capra and John Houston to get my muse going, and s far it’s kind of fun. I’ll let you know if I feel any differently as the month progresses.

Actually, my first attempts at writing creatively were writing little plays and acting them out. I had fallen in love with old movies as a kid, and never got to see enough of them ( yes, life as it was before cable television and Turner Classic Movies) so I would make up my own.

So, I guess if you can blame my current nutty project on anything, you can blame it on a nostaglic yearning for my seemingly endless font of childhood creativity.

If anyone would like to join in on the madness with me- feel free. Even if you get started a little late, you can catch up, and even if you don’t make that hundred page goal at the end of the month, it will be a lot of fun trying something new… just like being a kid again. So, come on- get in the creative sandbox with me and try something new!

About Simple Pleasures Bookgal

Simple Pleasures Books features a wide selection of new and used books, featuring southern authors, our local Virginia authors and specialize in women's interests. We can be contacted by message here, via email @ : simplepleasuresbooks@gmail.com via our Facebook page : SP Books & Gifts and you can follow us on Twitter
This entry was posted in PostaWeek2011, Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to You’re writing what…?!

  1. Theresa Courtright says:

    I wish you luck and a lot of fun with this! 🙂

  2. Screenplays (for sale) are very different from fiction. All dialogue and the story has to be told in the dialogue. I recommend “Save The Cat” by Blake Snyder for a brilliant tutorial in screenplay writing. I threw out my first screenplay, rewrote and they optioned it, fun but legal issues with the actress they wanted to star in it meant it never was made. Wrote the screenplay for Waltzing Cowboys, but haven’t sent it out. It’s Clint Eastwood or Robert Duval, so if there’s anyone out there who knows either of them, you could make the introduction …

Leave a Reply

