Weekly Topic- Why Blog?

For me the decision to blog was an easy one- especially after we closed our Ashland storefront. I love books- and the only thing I love more than reading books is discussing them, sharing them with others, discovering if the same things that touched me, shocked me or intrigued me were the same things that elicited those emotions in others.

I also love to write. I’ve always been one of those people who are more expressive and articulate ‘on paper’ than in person. I have a somewhat secret fear of public speaking which I’ve only partially conquered, so pen and paper- or more often- a computer keyboard is a much more comfortable venue of expression for me. Since books are one of my favorite things, and there are so many wonderful undiscovered books floating around out here, I try to do my best to find those undiscovered gems that don’t always find their way to the top of list and help them along their way.

 I have no illusions that I will ever be a force in shaping literary opinion, but a small light shining on a gem is better than no light at all.

About Simple Pleasures Bookgal

Simple Pleasures Books features a wide selection of new and used books, featuring southern authors, our local Virginia authors and specialize in women's interests. We can be contacted by message here, via email @ : simplepleasuresbooks@gmail.com via our Facebook page : SP Books & Gifts and you can follow us on Twitter
This entry was posted in PostaWeek2011, Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Weekly Topic- Why Blog?

  1. Ms. Dawn says:

    I recently posted this same question on my blog. My husband was not being very supportive (to put it lightly) of my newfound hobby, so I was looking for a reason to tell him I do this (one that was also a reason of mine that I couldn’t seem to convey) and it’s answers like this one that reminded me why I wanted to do it…and convinced him that I should be “allowed”!! Great post.

    • simplepleasuresbooks says:

      Glad I could help. Writing is a pleasure and outlet that should never be denied and always encouraged. Even if it’s just for you and no one else, you are writing for the most important reason- it makes you happy. I really enjoyed reading your blog, and have to say- I applaud you for finding the time to read- much less write. Eight kids! Wow!!! As a mother of five ( all grown with kids of their own now) I know how tough it is to find the time for one or the other- but both! You keep on fighting for your right to keep your creative side alive. It will be an inspiration to your kids later- if not now. Happy writing!
      Brenda

Leave a comment