Becoming Part of “Books For Soldiers”

There have been times in my life when books have been my escape, my sanctuary and a soothing balm in a troubled world. They have made me laugh when I needed to laugh almost as much as I needed to breathe. They have made me think, opened my eyes to new ideas and allowed me to cherish memories. Sometimes they simply helped to take me on a mini-vacation in my mind when an actual vacation was impossible.

So yesterday when I saw a link for the site  Books For Soldiers  , I was immediately interested. I had been looking for a way to do something nice and give back to those who so constantly sacrifice so much. I had looked into a lot of other troop support sites and organizations and while they all seemed like fine organizations, none were quite the right fit for us. When I saw Books For Soldiers and the way the organization is set up I knew I had found just the right fit for us.

The site contains message boards from soldiers from all branches of the service with specific requests for books, dvds, games, etc…  You must register to be a member of the site ( it’s free) and if you want to be a Volunteer ( someone who fills the requests of the soldiers) all you have to do is fill out some basic information  about yourself ( name, address, email) on a form they provide ( in either Word or PDF format) and after having it notarized, send it to them for approval. That part is a little bit of a hassle, but it’s to protect the troops personal information ( name and where they are deployed and that you won’t share that information with outside sources) . That’s it. Very easy and in the end very fulfilling. We hope you will join us in being part of Books For Soldiers. If you find it;s something you are unable to do, please pass it on to someone who may be able to help or a soldier serving that may want to post their own wish list.

About Simple Pleasures Bookgal

Simple Pleasures Books features a wide selection of new and used books, featuring southern authors, our local Virginia authors and specialize in women's interests. We can be contacted by message here, via email @ : simplepleasuresbooks@gmail.com via our Facebook page : SP Books & Gifts and you can follow us on Twitter
This entry was posted in books, Events, Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment